Primetime Emmy Award

@Primetime Emmy Award Intro

Story Highlights
  • The first prize was given in 1949


The Academy of Broadcasting Arts & Sciences (ATAS) bestows the Primetime Emmy Award in recognition of achievement in American primetime television programming. The honor was first handed out in 1949 and was known simply as the “Emmy Awards” until the first Daytime Emmy Award ceremony in 1974 when the term “prime time” was applied to differentiate between the two. Every September, on the Sunday before the official start of the fall television season, the Primetime Emmy Awards are shown. Since 1995, the Emmy Awards have been broadcast in a four-year rotation among the four major networks (ABC, CBS, FOX, and NBC), with each network taking turns hosting the event.

More information can be found here


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button